Seem to have messed up Admin backend

Hi,
I’m new to Magento and coming to terms with the steep learning curve.

I tried installing SMTP extension - mageplaza/module-smtp - using Composer.

I ran these three commands …

composer require mageplaza/module-smtp … worked fine
php bin/magento setup:upgrade … got a warning … Path “/var/www/html/app/etc/” cannot be used with directory “/var/www/html/app/etc/”
php bin/magento setup:static-content:deploy … would not work so used -f flag and it worked.

Now, the frontend store loads fine but the backend doesn’t appear to be loading CSS or JS.

Has anyone come across this before? Any recommendations?

Server: Ubuntu 16.04
Hosting: AWS Lightsail
Magento: 2.3.0

Hi @damianduffy,

As of yet, I’ve not come across this issue before. Did you:

1. Run composer require mageplaza/module-smtp as the magento file user (not root)?
  2. Run composer require mageplaza/module-smtp from within the Magento root directory?

Developer Mode
If you’re working in Developer Mode, try running the following series of commands (from Magento root directory as magento file user):

1. rm -rf var/cache var/log var/page_cache var/view_preprocessed
  2. bin/magento setup:upgrade

Production Mode
If you’re working in Production Mode, try running the following series of commands (from Magento root directory as magento file user):

1. bin/magento setup:di:compile
  2. bin/magento setup:static-content:deploy en_GB en_US
  3. bin/magento cache:flush

Note: In step 2, I deploy static content in the the languages that I’ve been working in. So, I always add en_US and my stores use en_GB locale. So, I add both.

Permissions and Ownerships
Also, check that your Folder/File permissions are correct by running ls -la within the Magento root directory. In many cases, I’ve found a common cause of issues are down to either a) File/Folder Ownership or b) File/Folder Permissions.

Side-note